Do I need to notify my car insurance company if my child gets their driver's license in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, you do not need to notify your car insurance company when your child gets their learner's permit.

Many insurance companies allow parents to list a teen with a learner's permit on the policy at no charge.

Once your child obtains their driver's license, you must add them to your policy.

Car insurance follows the car, not the driver, but drivers must have insurance coverage when they are behind the wheel as required by state laws.

Rules for adding a teen driver to your policy vary depending on state laws and insurance company guidelines.

Teen drivers exhibit risky behavior, making them more likely to have an accident.

According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, teen drivers (16-19 years old) are three times more likely to crash than drivers 20 years old and older.

Adding a teenager to an auto insurance policy can result in a hefty cost increase of between 50 and 100 percent.

If your teen isn't driving, they do not need to be on your insurance policy.

Some families choose to delay having their children learn to drive to save for a car or gain more experience.

Insurance companies require all licensed drivers in a household be listed on the auto insurance policy except unlicensed children.

Disclose all household members when applying for car insurance as failure to do so can lead to complications or denial of claims.